Palace Of Peace

Vance Larson
2 min readSep 7, 2023

--

The vast majority of research that I have come across, states that our environment constantly shapes and reshapes our personality. In other words, environment is everything. That is the law of nature. Plants won’t grow in the wrong environment. Neither will you. The places that you frequent, your job and especially where you lay your head at night, determines if you will be happy or not. Let’s get into it…

The places…where are you spending your time? This is tricky. Some people gain peace at a park. Others at a bar. Some go to church when they are stressed. Others go to the club and dance it out. Still, look at environment. Be honest with yourself. One can go to a bar and have a few cocktails and unwind. But pay attention to the energy. We have a tendency to conform with our surroundings. Have you ever been with a group of people and all of a sudden, someone starts to run? What happens next? Not knowing what, or if there is a threat, something inside of us kicks in and we start running too. It’s the energy. Or perhaps you walk into a room and something feels off, so you ask who died? Only to find out that someone really did in fact die. Energy.

My house is my palace. It is designed to optimize peace. From the minute you walk in you can feel it. From the candles, to the crystals, to the incense burning. The daily saging, to the evening prayers. My house opens the heart and soothes all that is unlike love. Detox and declutter everything that does not lend itself to a sense of peace.

Start today. The places that you spend the most time, are affecting you on a cellular level. Your car, your work cubicle and your home. Do they inspire peace or panic? Passion or pain? Whatever you can do to make those environments more relaxing, do it. The environments that we can control, we should. As for me, I like sanctuary. I choose to make my home a palace of peace.

--

--

Vance Larson

I am a retired crisis counselor of 20 years. I share my experiences {both personal and professional} about thought provoking subjects. Follow me.